Interview with Rebecca Hiles Sex Educator

How is that your blog is a help to the knowledge of sexuality, eroticism, BDSM, and polyamory? In response to blog Kinkly defined his blog at three points: positive, accessible and inclusive. How do these assumptions are important to promote sex education and better learning for those who read your articles?

I believe my blog is a help to the knowledge of specifically sexuality and polyamory because it tends to discuss sexuality with a holistic approach. The positive, accessible, and inclusive are important when promoting sex education because it should be discussed positively, and be as inclusive as possible in a way that resonates with as many people as possible.

At 19 you was already working on gender, how this initial work was rewarding in terms of knowledge and allowed him a great progress for the construction of your blog?
You said his work full time on sex would be to help in interpersonal relationships, and sexuality. As it has been the result of your help in interpersonal relationships and sexuality?

I was working in sexuality and gender at the age of 10, and I did find it very rewarding. The construction of the blog came out of this rewarding work because I felt that I had a things to say that could help people. I feel that both my own and other interpersonal relationships have been helped by my work. I have a number of clients and have applied some of my own questions and realizations assisting my clients to my own life.

Equally on the interview to the Kinkly you said that when he wanted to look at and approaching the sex quickly felt overwhelmed. How is this oppression was harmful to you? How did you overcome this problem and familiarand warm way that approaches the theme for the other helps that people do not have the same conflict?

It was less that my sexuality was oppressed, and more that there wasn’t a place that had clear and honest conversations about sex and sexuality. I prefer that frankness in a way that is warm and comforting. Eventually I overcame my problems by realizing that I had the ability and privilege that others do not, and using that privilege to the benefit of everyone to help and serve them with the kind of sex education I needed when I first started.

Have you a polyamorous relationship and in their view we are at a time of normalizing these relationships, polyamory at least in Portugal is not much discussed to the people, how can you work for standardization, considering that writes on the topic have a life polyamorous makes it simple writing work on the subject?

I am polyamorous, though I am not in a relationship at this time. As far as working towards standardization of polyamory, I believe that the more polyamory is discussed, the more acceptable it will become. Also, the more polyamory is discussed, the more questions will be answered for those who need assistance making their relationships more simple.

Have you a company (1) of sex toys and gives seminars for oneself what is the importance of toys in the sexuality of women and men? How should explore sexuality through the toys, how can men look for toys with a less prejudiced view? What have you learned while working with these items?

I no longer collaborate with Lotus Blooms. There is not really an importance for toys except in the interest of exploring more! I think that people should encourage toy usage as a way to interact with their own bodies, and their partners bodies. As for men, I think that finding sex toys that are from companies who are not sexist and finding toys that are body safe will be the best help. I’ve learned that there are a number of toys that do a number of different things on the market, not all of them will work for any one person. I have also really learned that every single body is different in hundreds of ways, and therefore there is no “one size fits all” toy.

He referred to Kinkly that STIs what is the best way to address this issue, considering that even happen very often and are a big problem that remains to discuss and address on STIs and about sexuality to prevent these situations?

STIs are definitely a topic of interest that no one has quite figured out. It’s hard to change an entire cultural (and I would argue worldwide) perspective that STIs are something to be ashamed about. Discussing STIs in an honest, frank way, a way without shame is the best way to discourage STI stigma. More importantly, educating physicians on how to destigmatize STIs would help prevent quite a lot of misinformation.

(1) Lotus Blooms

Thanks for your time, and all the best wishes for your work.

Project Genesis by Pleasure
Interview: Pedro Marques
Translation and Correction and: Mário Martins

Leave a Reply

